Chocolate Red Wine Cupcakes with Red Wine Buttercream

Red Wine Chocolate Cake with Red Wine Buttercream

It’s my first blog post! I thought this recipe would be a fitting first post as these cupcakes are currently the cover photo (is that only an fb term?) of my new blog. I can’t explain to you to how excited I am to be starting a blog! It’s been on my to-do list all semester long, and I can’t believe it’s finally here. Thanks to all of the people who have encouraged me on my baking journey thus far… I can’t imagine my life without all the people on my floor/family/sorority who have supported me in my baking endeavors.These delicious morsels were made for my dancers. As background, I was part of this MIT dance group called Dance Troupe and choreographed a dance piece every semester while I was a part of it. These cupcakes were a gift to all of my dancers for working super hard all semester and putting up with all of my crazy madness. The cupcakes were inspired by the song I used, Who You Are by Jessie J. As someone who loves wine (a little too much) and chocolate, I thought these cupcakes would be the perfect treat for our last show. In return, my dancers got me a beautiful williams and sonoma red pie dish (I almost died of happiness when I looked at it.. they know me soo well). I also received socks because all of mine have holes in them from turning so much and a bottle of rosé… yummNow onto the good stuff.. these cupcakes

This recipe calls for a whole bottle of wine!! WHOOO! I suggest you use wine you would actually want to drink. I used Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens Bordeaux Superieur 2008 because I just had it lying around from a recent order of wine I made and wanted to use it up. Any sort of red wine will do, but I’d suggest a Bordeaux or something a bit fruity to compliment the chocolate. There should be a tiny bit of wine left in the bottle for some casual sipping.. just saying…

 

Chocolate Red Wine Cupcakes

Adapted from the Smitten Kitchen Red Wine Chocolate Cake

Makes around ~24 cupcakes (I got 2-3 extra which I happily snacked on)

Ingredients

Chocolate Red Wine Cupcakes

1 cup (2 sticks) softened butter
2/3 cups granulated sugar
1 1/2 cups of firmly packed light brown sugar
4 eggs (room temperature is best)
2 cups red wine (generously poured)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 2/3 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Red Wine Buttercream

1 cup red wine (same wine used in cupcake– should mostly empty out your bottle)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
2 3/4 cups confectioner’s sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 drop of red food coloring (optional)

Method

For Cupcakes:

Preheat your oven to 325°F and line 2 cupcake pans with liners.

Beat softened butter at medium speed in an electric mixer until smooth. Add white sugar and beat on medium-high speed for 1 minute. Then add brown sugar, and beat until light and fluffy! (should be around 3-5 minutes)

Add eggs, one at a time, letting each incorporate before dropping in the next one. Then, add vanilla extract. At this time, scrape down the bowl to make sure all ingredients get incorporated.

Mix together dry ingredients (flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon) in a bowl. Whisk to aerate the mixture and fully incorporate your leaveners.

Pop open your red wine and measure out amount needed (maybe taste it too!) Alternate additions of the dry and wet ingredients. Start with the 1/3 of the dry, and then add 1/2 of the wine, stirring the whole time. Repeat, and then add the last of the dry. Give the bowl a good thorough scrap and then mix until the ingredients are incorporated together and the batter is smooth.

Scoop batter into muffin tins (using an ice cream scoop if you have one) so that tins are 3/4 full.

Bake cupcakes for around 25 minutes, rotating the tray half way in between. Cupcakes are done when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean or when the tops spring back when lightly touched. Let cupcakes cool completely before frosting.

For Frosting:

Place red wine and granulated sugar in a small pot over medium-high heat. Stir until sugar is dissolved. Bring it to a boil and then let it simmer until reduced down to 1/3 cup. Wine should be syrup-y, but not super gooey.Remove wine mixture from heat, transfer it to a new container and let it cool completely. This can be done the night before or while the cupcakes are baking.

Add the butter to your stand mixer and beat until smooth. Add confectioners sugar, mixing first on low speed (as to not create a mess in your kitchen) and then high speed once all of the confectioners sugar is incorporated. Add salt and beat until fluffy and lovely.

With the mixer on low, carefully add in the wine. You can add in all or some of the wine mixture depending on how your want your buttercream to taste. If your wine is too thick and syrupy, microwave it in 10 seconds bursts to let it liquefy again. Then, add to butter mixture and beat away. If you want your buttercream to be a bit more red, you can add a couple drops of food coloring or coloring paste at this stage.

Once all of the wine is incorporated, mix on medium-high speed for 1-2 minutes to make sure wine is fully incorporated and buttercream is light and fluffy.

Transfer frosting to a piping bag fitted with your favorite tip and frost away!

If you are accurate with your measurements, you should have enough wine left in the bottle for sipping while you bake. According to my math (3 cups=600ml) so you should have a nice 150ml of wine left to enjoy on your own.

Happy Baking! (and drinking!)

❤ Bex

 

Leave a Reply

